Giving my kitchen a fresh, happy look.

Earlier this year, I decided to spruce up my kitchen.  With my older son getting married, and my younger son graduating from college and moving to Florida, I decided it was time that my favorite room of the house look like it was decorated just for me—feminine and cheerful.

First, I changed the appliances from standard white to stainless steel.  What a difference!  Then, I removed the brass knobs from my kitchen cabinets, and replaced them with pink glass knobs, made by Taamba Heirloom Hardware.  Next I replaced the old window valances with new, black iron rods with a curly cue, and valances with white polka dots on a light pink background.  I chose cotton rugs from Pottery Barn Teen, striped in shades of orange, pink, white, and brown. 

Today, I had my new kitchen furniture delivered.  Custom made by my favorite furniture store, Russell & Mackenna, my kitchen now sports raspberry barstools, a raspberry table with a birch top, creamsicle kitchen chairs, and a cool new creamsicle buffet trimmed with a cut-out flower.  Wow!

Now I’ve got to decide how I will decorate my walls.  I am considered hanging a very colorful, a hand-painted window made by artist Claire Was Here above the buffet. 

 

 Next, I have to find a place for the painting by Erin Smith Art, featuring a young girl who says “I may appear harmless…but inside I’m completely badass.”  I love it!

   

 Just for fun (and all of this is fun, believe me!), I’ll put up Judie Bomberger’s “Burton” clock, which shows a blue cat jumping over a happy moon. 

Finally, I will hang my new kitchen towels, made by artist Julia Junkin, that state “I Love My Dog,” in bright colors, or maybe another set that proclaim “Sweet Life.” 

I adore my happy new kitchen.  All of the art work and towels that I chose for my new kitchen will be available for sale in my up-and-coming web store, Jilly’s Happy Home.  We launch my new web site in October, and I hope to see you there!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 02:31:12

    Hi Mom: Everything looks way cool! Miss you!

    Reply

  2. Milissa
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:31:38

    Hi Jilly:

    Blog looks and sounds great. Can’t wait to be able to purchase my painted window pane.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

